Smoothieware V2-Core box · wiring research atlas · 2026-09-23

Machine-control pinout survey

A source-indexed study of machine-side connectors that future V2-Core retrofit labels may need to describe. Each record is tied to a named model, board, and revision scope where the source provides one.

31 machine/controller configurations assessed across two chapters 18 with at least one explicit contact/function assignment 13 leads or high-level connection records 5 categories: mills, lathes, plotters, lasers, routers 0 install-ready V2-Core labels Study artifact only · not a wiring procedure
Chapter 1 · Initial machine and controller survey · 2026-09-23

The request

ok I want to study a new project, that project is a "box" in which there is a smoothieboard v2-core (without the stepper drivers), and it's a metal box with screw terminals all arund it, and people can wire it into their cnc mill or cnc lathe or other types of machines, wiring it to their stepper motor drivers or servo drivers, and spindle driver, etc etc. now the big thing I need to know to prepare this, is the "pinout" the name and types of connections inside those machines people would be rewiring using our stuff, like a tormarch, or an old mach3 machine, or other controllers/machine types we'd be a drop-in replacement for. so what I need you to find for me is as many (if possible MANY) different machines (let's concentrate on cnc mills, lathes, pen plotters, and lasers, for now), and for each find the name of their connecitons/wires, their "pinout" essentially, so we could contruct for each machine a big "sticker" we'd stick on top of our metal box (that contains the smoothieboard v2-core) so it's trivial for people to "wire into" their machine. please for now just find MANY different machines and their pinouts, and save those to src/docs/ in a html doc, with diagrams and any images you found from your source, and links, and visual elements and tables and anything else you think would be useful to document or figure out the wiring and to prepare the creation of our stickers and our "boxes".

Request transcript: /home/arthur/.codex/sessions/2026/09/23/rollout-2026-09-23T02-58-07-01a0cbc5-19d8-7d00-a737-6725e9cab16f.jsonl

Do not wire from this survey. A screw-terminal sticker cannot safely be finalized until the machine serial/revision, installed control board, V2-Core production schematic, interface ratings, and safety-chain design are known. This page records research facts and gaps; it is not an installation guide, electrical design, or safety certification.

What the sources support

DB25 maps exist

Tormach publishes distinct connector profiles for PCNC 440, older PCNC 770/1100, and 15L Slant-PRO. They are not the same map.

Some maps are internal

Several newer Tormach machines publish cabinet schematics and wire tables, but not a universal external controller port. Their serial/control variant matters.

V2-Core is unresolved

Checked-in V2 material does not establish a production Core screw-terminal map or complete external-driver ratings. No final Core-side label is justified yet.

Keep logic I/O, driver outputs, motor supply, spindle power, mains, PE, and safety circuits as separate label domains. Colors are only a reading aid.
Tormach describes the PCNC 440 DB25 as the controller-to-mill link, continuing inside the cabinet to IDC26 and the machine control board or MX3660. Source: PCNC 440 DB25 J4/J10 pinout.
PCNC 440 machine-side DB25 functions, from the manufacturer page. Signal level, current, polarity, and isolation are not specified there for every pin.

Machine-side connector maps found

Tormach 770M / 1100M · internal J6 map is a restricted-source lead

The official machine-control-board pages identify separate drawings for 770M and 1100M, each with a “Stepper Control Cable Pin Assignments” chart at J6. The 1100M drawing is 37158 Rev I, sheet 5 of 12; the 770M drawing is 37361 Rev J, sheet 5 of 12. Both title blocks mark the drawings proprietary/confidential and state that the drawings and information may not be copied, used, or disclosed without prior written permission. This survey links the source pages but does not reproduce or transcribe their internal pin assignments. Obtain written permission or a separately authorized source before adding those maps.

Sources: Tormach 1100M Machine Control Board and 770M Machine Control Board. The linked pages show machine-specific internal ribbon/board connections, not a universal retrofit port.

Tormach PCNC 440 · DB25 J4/J10 to IDC26

The official article separates the PCNC 440 from the PCNC 770/1100 and 15L tables. It says the machine-side DB25 connects through a ribbon cable to IDC26 at the machine control board or MX3660. The table preserves published function labels; missing electrical characteristics stay unknown.

PCNC 440 DB25 connector, pins 1–17
PinSource function labelElectrical detailsSticker evidence
1Spindle EnableLevel, polarity, current, isolation unknownFunction known
2X StepUnknownFunction known
3X DirectionUnknownFunction known
4Y StepUnknownFunction known
5Y DirectionUnknownFunction known
6Z StepUnknownFunction known
7Z DirectionUnknownFunction known
8A StepUnknownFunction known
9A DirectionUnknownFunction known
10X Limit; source notes it is used for enclosure door switchUnknownDoor/limit behavior needs machine check
11Y LimitUnknownFunction known
12Z LimitUnknownFunction known
13Probe InUnknownFunction known
14Spindle SpeedUnknownFunction known
15Estop ResetUnknown; not evidence of a safety-rated E-stop pathFunction known, safety design unresolved
16Charge PumpUnknownFunction known
17CoolantUnknownFunction known
18–25Not described in this machine tableDo not infer ground or NCNot mapped by this source

Source: Tormach, “DB25 Cable J4 and J10(440) Pinout”, PCNC 440 section. Its same page calls the link “serial communication” while documenting step/dir and I/O functions; confirm the installed cabinet and controller. A separate PCNC 440 electrical schematic is also available.

Older Tormach PCNC 770 and PCNC 1100 · shared published DB25 table

Tormach publishes a separate PCNC 1100/770 section. Several voltage observations appear, but the labels do not establish a conventional step/direction interpretation for pins 2–9. Record them literally until the exact controller revision and electrical interface are verified.

Published PCNC 770/1100 DB25 labels and observations
Pin(s)Source label / observationOpen issue
1Speed/Enable; 2.5 VDC measured, 0–10 kHzWaveform, logic threshold, common, isolation unknown
2X-Axis Direction — “0 Vdc (Normal) and X+, 5 Vdc X-”Source wording does not clearly associate each voltage/state; circuit type unknown
3X+/- — “5 Vdc (Normal), 4.75 Vdc (Pressed)”Not identified as step pulses; circuit and polarity unknown
4Y-Axis Direction — “0 Vdc (Normal) and Y+, 5 Vdc X-”Source literally says “X-” here; possible source error, do not silently correct
5Y+/- — “5 Vdc (Normal), 4.75 Vdc (Pressed)”Not identified as step pulses; circuit and polarity unknown
6Z-Axis Direction — “0 Vdc (Normal) and Z+, 5 Vdc X-”Source literally says “X-” here; possible source error, do not silently correct
7Z+/- — “5 Vdc (Normal), 4.75 Vdc (Pressed)”Not identified as step pulses; circuit and polarity unknown
8A-Axis Direction — “0 Vdc (Normal) and A+, 5 Vdc X-”Source literally says “X-” here; possible source error, do not silently correct
9A+/- — “5 Vdc (Normal), 4.75 Vdc (Pressed)”Not identified as step pulses; circuit and polarity unknown
10–12X, Y, Z Limit; source says 5 VDCRange, source/sink, common, protection unknown
13Accessory InputFunction/electrical type unknown
14Coolant; source says 5 VDCPolarity/current/output stage unknown
15Machine OKPolarity/electrical type unknown
16FWD 5 V / REV 0 VDirection encoding/reference unknown
17–25Not described in this tableUnknown; do not infer NC or ground

Source: PCNC 770 and PCNC 1100 sections of the Tormach DB25 pinout page. Keep the 770 and 1100 as separate records even though the article groups them; confirm serial, control board, and connector revision.

Tormach 15L Slant-PRO · separate lathe DB25 map with explicit uncertainty

Published 15L Slant-PRO DB25 labels
Pin(s)Source label / observationOpen issue
1Speed/Enable; 2.5 VDC measured, 0–10 kHzRatings and function boundary unknown
2X-Axis Direction — “0 Vdc (Normal) and X+, 5 Vdc X-”Source wording/state unclear; circuit type unknown
3X+/- — “5 Vdc (Normal), 4.75 Vdc (Pressed)”Not identified as step pulses
4Z-Axis Direction — “0 Vdc (Normal) and Z+, 5 Vdc X-”Source literally says “X-”; possible source error
5Z+/- — “5 Vdc (Normal), 4.75 Vdc (Pressed)”Not identified as step pulses
6Spindle DirLevel, polarity, common unknown
7–9ATC turret switch input; ATC forward; collet closerElectrical types and kit/revision coverage unknown
10–12Z, A, B EncoderQuadrature wiring, levels, phases unknown
13Accessory InputUnknown
14Coolant; source adds a question mark to its 5 V measurementUnverified
15Machine OKElectrical type unknown
16Frequency-encoded data input; source adds “??” before a possible FWD/REV interpretationExplicitly unresolved by source
17–25Not described in this tableUnknown

Sources: Tormach DB25 page, “15L Slant Pro” section and 15L electrical schematic index. The schematic is internal; the DB25 article leaves some claims explicitly uncertain.

Sherline 8760 4-axis driver box · DB25 control interface

Sherline publishes the driver-box DB25 map and timing/logic statements. It is the PC-to-driver-box control connector, not a motor-phase connector. The 5-pin DIN motor ports are separate; the retrieved product page does not define the full pin-to-winding table.

Sherline 8760 DB25 functions from its product page
PinPublished functionPinPublished function
1Input from LinuxCNC (may be ignored by other systems)14Input from LinuxCNC, C1
2X Direction15Not specified on retrieved page
3X Step16Input from LinuxCNC, C2
4Y Direction17NC
5Y Step18–25Ground
6Z Direction10NC
7Z Step11Output to LinuxCNC
8A Direction12Output to LinuxCNC, XYZ home
9A Step13NC
Known from Sherline: logic high must exceed 2 V; logic low must be below 0.5 V; step pulses are active-low and at least 22 μs long. These are 8760 facts, not assumptions for another box or bare motor.

Source: Sherline 4-Axis CNC Driver Box product page, DB25 and parameters sections. It also states 24 VDC/4 A for the driver-box power system; this is not a DB25 signal rating.

Sherline Acorn 9400 → 8760 mill/lathe configurations

The 8760 has the documented DB25 pin roles; Acorn H6 output pins must be remapped in CNC12 to those DB25 roles. The pin column below is the resulting cable/8760-side DB25 assignment, while the axis column is the software configuration. These are paired controller profiles, not additional machine-side connector families.

Mill configuration from Sherline’s Acorn remapping guide
Configured Acorn axisAcorn DB25 pin roles after custom remap8760 DB25 receiver rolesConfiguration note
Axis 1 (X)2 = Direction 1; 3 = Step 12 = X Direction; 3 = X StepCustom remap is required; verify current CNC12 setup
Axis 2 (Y)4 = Direction 2; 5 = Step 24 = Y Direction; 5 = Y StepMill configuration
Axis 3 (Z)6 = Direction 3; 7 = Step 36 = Z Direction; 7 = Z StepMill configuration
Axis 4 (A)8 = Direction 4; 9 = Step 48 = A Direction; 9 = A StepMill configuration
Lathe configuration from Sherline’s Acorn remapping guide
Configured Acorn axisAcorn DB25 pin roles after custom remap8760 DB25 receiver rolesConfiguration note
Axis 1 (Z)2 = Direction 1; 3 = Step 12 = X Direction; 3 = X StepAcorn Z is assigned to the 8760’s X input channel; confirm downstream lathe-axis wiring
Axis 2 (X)4 = Direction 2; 5 = Step 24 = Y Direction; 5 = Y StepAcorn X is assigned to the 8760’s Y input channel; confirm downstream lathe-axis wiring

Sherline’s lathe guide explicitly says pins 4 and 5 of the 8760 mapping are not used in this application, yet its later axis instructions assign the lathe’s Axis 2 (X) to pins 4 and 5. Preserve that apparent document inconsistency and confirm the exact setup before wiring.

Sources: Sherline/Acorn controller, Acorn-to-8760 DB25 diagram, and Configure Acorn for Sherline. Read the active CNC12 remap before using these roles.

Controller interfaces useful as reference profiles

GeckoDrive G540 Rev 8 · DB25, screw terminal block, motor DB9

The G540 combines a motion interface with four stepper drives. Its map helps identify a G540 retrofit but is not the machine’s OEM wiring. Motor DB9 connectors carry motor-phase outputs and stay separate from the DB25 logic connector.

G540 Rev 8 DB25 pin function summary
Pin groupPublished function
1Output 2
2–9X Step, X Direction, Y Step, Y Direction, Z Step, Z Direction, A Step, A Direction
10–13Inputs 1–4
14VFD PWM (manual labels it 50 Hz)
15Fault (input to PC)
16Charge Pump (>10 kHz)
17Output 1
18–25GND

Sources: Geckodrive G540 Manual Rev 8 and Geckodrive manual index. Rev 8 also maps the main terminal block and motor DB9 connectors. It describes opto-isolation for LPT signals; verify the external driver’s actual interface requirements.

Mesa 7I96S · pluggable screw-terminal motion interface

The Mesa manual names step and direction pairs on screw terminals. This is a controller-side connector map, not evidence that a target machine uses those electrical conventions.

7I96S TB1 connector, manual pages 8–9
TB1 pinsSignalTB1 pinsSignal
1GND13GND
2–5STEP0−, STEP0+, DIR0−, DIR0+14–17STEP2−, STEP2+, DIR2−, DIR2+
6+5VP18+5VP
7GND19GND
8–11STEP1−, STEP1+, DIR1−, DIR1+20–23STEP3−, STEP3+, DIR3−, DIR3+
12+5VP24+5VP
TB3 domain: manual says 11 isolated 5–36 V inputs, four isolated high-current DC outputs, and two high-isolation AC/DC outputs. Do not infer output current or AC rating from the summary; use the exact manual and hardware revision.

Source: Mesa 7I96S manual, connector pages 8–11. It describes +5VP field pins as PTC short-circuit protected 5 V outputs.

Mach3 / parallel-port installs · configurable pin roles

Mach3 is software, not a machine wiring standard. A machine with a DB25 may use a PC port, external motion controller, breakout board, G540, or another controller. LinuxCNC’s official parallel-port guide likewise makes pin direction depend on port mode and permits output inversion; its stepper example is one configurable assignment.

Sticker rule: label a DB25 role only after identifying the installed controller/breakout and reading its active configuration. Connector numbering alone does not reveal the assigned axis, limit, spindle, or safety role.

Other controller references

  • CNC4PC C11G Rev 9.3: DB25 pins 1–9 buffered outputs; 10, 11, 12, 13, 15 dedicated inputs; 14, 16, 17 outputs with assignments dependent on use/jumpers. Published input range 2–5 V; output maximum +5.5 V and typical current 24 mA. C11G I/O specifications and pinout.
  • Warp9 Ethernet SmoothStepper Rev 2: three 26-pin parallel-style headers using DB25-style numbering; direct interface maximum 5 V and the vendor expects a breakout board for machine wiring. ESS documentation.
  • Centroid Acorn Rev 3/4: vendor connector schematics and revision-specific maps are available; machine assignments depend on hookup schematic and setup. The quick-start document says DIY hookup examples are incomplete educational examples. Acorn Start Here, Centroid schematic browser, and Acorn Rev 3 specification manual.

Laser controller and machine-side findings

Ruida RDC6445G / RDC6445S · controller map, not universal machine wiring

The Ruida manual publishes a useful control-card map and distinguishes glass-tube and RF laser uses for the same pins. It does not prove which PSU, door circuit, water protection, or safety-chain arrangement is installed in a particular cutter.

RDC6445G/S V1.2 CN5 first laser interface, manual page 17
PinLabelPublished roleVariant note
1GNDPower ground outputMatch against exact PSU domain
2L-ON1Laser-enable controlRF laser: unused; glass-tube use depends on PSU logic
3LPWM1Laser power controlRF laser: RF-PWM; glass tube: PSU PWM input
4WP1Water-protector inputPreserve configured interlock behavior

Axis connectors label pin 1 DIR (open-collector output), pin 2 PUL (open-collector output), and pin 3 +5V output. The manual says direction polarity and pulse edge are configurable and that pulse/direction require common-anode connection at the motor driver. It does not make the rest of the cabinet wiring universal.

Source: Ruida RDC6445G Control System V1.2 Manual, axis connector description and §4.10 CN5/CN6. Confirm controller suffix/revision and actual PSU model.

K40-style blue-box laser · MYJG40W PSU example, older community wiring record

The repository’s SmoothK40 guide describes one MYJG40W example and explicitly says PSU models and terminal labels vary; the author could not find a manual for that particular supply. It records labels including L−, FG, AC, G, P/WP, L/TL, IN, 5V, and +24V, plus one X/Y/limit harness variant. This is secondary, model-variable evidence, not a manufacturer pinout.

Repository sources: SmoothK40 guide and Blue-box PSU guide. They describe more than one laser-fire arrangement and warn about 3.3 V control outputs requiring a suitable interface for 5 V input hardware. Treat these labels as leads until the exact PSU diagram and machine revision are found.

Makerbase MKS DLC32 V2.1 · desktop diode-laser controller

Makerbase documents a configurable engraving controller and firmware profile. Its official wiki labels an air/cold-water-assist control SCL and describes 3.3 V/0 V high/low states; it also says higher-power laser PSUs require a separate supply, common ground, and TTL signal. The project README points to a wiring manual that returns 404 at the audited URL, so a complete connector map remains unavailable.

Ortur Laser Master 3 · closed machine harness

Ortur identifies the OLM-ESP-PRO-V2.4 motherboard, NEMA 17 motors, 24 V power system, and safety features including key lock, E-stop, exposure timer, tilt detection, USB monitoring, and position protection. Public support material found here does not provide external motor-driver connector pinouts. Treat it as an internal-rewire case; preserve the machine interlocks.

Source: Ortur Laser Master 3 support page. No external step/dir or PSU terminal map was found there.

Plotters

Pen plotter connection evidence
Product/configurationSource-backed connectionsSticker assessment
AxiDraw V2/V3/SE/A4, V3/A3, XLX, MiniKit, SE/A1, SE/A2, V3/B6Official API exposes USB serial and EBB firmware. Standard pen-lift servo uses B1; optional narrow-band brushless servo uses B2. XY stepper signals are internal.Internal / USB serial No exposed machine-side step/dir map. These model variants do not constitute seven pinout maps.
Makeblock XY Plotter V2.0Official project describes Me baseboard, USB connection, Arduino Leonardo firmware, and serial/G-code application. Retrieved official material does not show external-driver terminal pinouts.Internal only Identify board revision before replacing drivers.

Candidate inventory · 25 assessed configurations

“Configuration” is intentional: some of the strongest public maps describe a control board rather than an OEM cabinet. This survey does not claim each row can be converted safely or that every row has a useful machine sticker.

Open the full inventory and evidence status
CategoryExact scopeEvidence foundClassificationSticker readiness
CNC millTormach PCNC 440, DB25 J4/J10Machine pins 1–17; inside cabinet IDC26 to machine board/MX3660Direct DB25 mapFunctions known; ratings/serial applicability required
CNC millTormach PCNC 770 legacyShared 770/1100 DB25 observations, some labels unclearDirect but ambiguousNot ready
CNC millTormach PCNC 1100 legacySame source table; keep separate machine recordDirect but ambiguousNot ready
CNC millTormach 770MJ6 stepper-control assignment chart on 37361 Rev J, sheet 5/12; drawing marked proprietary/confidentialRestricted source leadNo transcription without written permission or another authorized source
CNC millTormach 770MX, MF/MH serial scopeOfficial subsystem schematics and wire tableInternal schematicCabinet-specific; source drawing marked proprietary
CNC millTormach 1100MJ6 stepper-control assignment chart on 37158 Rev I, sheet 5/12; drawing marked proprietary/confidentialRestricted source leadNo transcription without written permission or another authorized source
CNC millTormach 1100MXOfficial subsystem schematics and wire tableInternal schematicCabinet/revision-specific
CNC latheTormach 8L, serial LA10506+Current official schematics and terminal strips; older serials use TD10829; check drawing rights before transcribingInternal / serial splitResolve serial and reuse permission before mapping
CNC latheTormach 15L Slant-PRODB25 table plus separate electrical schematic index; “?” labels remainDB25 with gapsVerify uncertain pins first
CNC millSherline CNC-ready mill + 8760Manufacturer DB25 map, logic thresholds and step timingDriver-box map8760-specific; motor DIN separate
CNC latheSherline CNC-ready lathe + 8760Same 8760 connector; lathe axes/spindle use separate configDriver-box mapConfiguration-specific insert
CNC millSherline/Acorn 9400 → 8760 millOfficial crossover/remap diagram and mill config guideConfigurable DB25Read active CNC12 map
CNC latheSherline/Acorn 9400 → 8760 latheLathe mapping changes axis-channel assignmentsConfigurable DB25Read active CNC12 map
Control referenceGeneric Mach3 + PC parallel portManual provides setup examples; software pin roles configurableConfigurableNo machine profile without BOB and active config
Driver/controllerGeckoDrive G540, Rev 8 manualDB25, terminal block, DB9 motor connector mapsController mapOnly if exact integrated driver is present
Breakout boardCNC4PC C11G, Rev 9.3DB25 I/O groups, TTL levels, pull direction and jumpersBoard mapRecord jumper state
Motion controllerWarp9 ESS, Rev 2Three 26-pin parallel-style ports; DB25 numbering and 5 V limitHost interfaceMachine map is BOB/config dependent
Motion controllerMesa Electronics 7I96STB1/TB2 step-dir/encoder; TB3 isolated 5–36 V input rangeController terminal mapNot OEM machine wiring
Motion controllerCentroid Acorn Rev 3/4Vendor connector schematics and revision-specific mapsRevision/config dependentUse exact manual and hookup schematic
CO₂ laserK40-style blue box + MYJG40W exampleRepo guide records PSU labels and one harness variantSecondary / variableNeed exact PSU manufacturer sheet
CO₂ laser controlRuida RDC6445G/S, V1.2Axis OC output and CN5/CN6 control pins; tube-type differencesController mapMachine PSU and safety remain specific
Diode laser controlMakerbase MKS DLC32 V2.1Wiki/firmware evidence; linked wiring PDF currently 404Partial / source gapNeed board schematic and manual
Diode laserOrtur Laser Master 3, OLM-ESP-PRO-V2.4Board, motor class, supply family, safety functionsClosed/internalNo public external terminal map found
Pen plotterAxiDraw model family, EBB controllerUSB serial and B1/B2 servo controlInternal / USB serialNo external step/dir map
Pen plotterMakeblock XY Plotter V2.0Official firmware/USB instructions, no external driver mapInternal onlyNeed exact board-level evidence

V2-Core label gate

The machine source may provide a function name, but a printable adapter sticker must also describe what the V2-Core screw terminal accepts or drives. The required Core-side contract is not established by the checked-in sources reviewed for this survey.

Board identity
Freeze Core PCB revision, assembly options, and connector/reference designators.
STEP/DIR/ENABLE
Verify pins, pulse limits, voltage/current, reset state, protection, and populated buffers.
Inputs
For limits/probe/encoder, verify range, polarity, pulls, filtering, isolation, and common.
Analog/PWM
Distinguish logic PWM from rated 0–10 V spindle reference; verify scaling, frequency, isolation, fault state.
Safety
Document independent E-stop and machine safety chain; preserve door, water, key, and laser interlocks.
Power domains
Separate logic, field supply, driver DC bus, spindle output, mains, chassis bond, and PE.

Repository starting points: V2 Prime documentation, V2 schematic, STM32H7 pin usage, and historical V2 Kickstarter updates. Prime docs and schematic disagree on some header/probe details; the production Core map remains unverified. The pin-usage document identifies unbuffered ADC inputs with a 3.3 V ceiling; do not generalize that to every other Core I/O.

Sticker record template

Require these fields before promoting a candidate to a printable adapter label. “Unknown” is an explicit value; blank cells are not evidence.

FieldRequired recordExample
ApplicabilityMachine model, serial range, control generation, board revisionPCNC 440; DB25 J4/J10 source; serial scope to confirm
Physical endpointConnector ref, view/orientation, pin, mating sideDB25 machine-side pin 2
SignalLiteral source label, direction, polarity, active state, waveform“X Step”; other details unknown
Electrical contractVoltage, current, sink/source, common, isolation, protectionUnknown until schematic/manual/measurement
Wire identityWire number/color, cable/pair/shield, original terminationUnknown in DB25 article
Core endpointExact Core terminal, direction, rating, protection, interface neededUnknown pending production design
Safety boundaryE-stop, limits, guards, interlocks, inhibit behaviorVerify against exact machine schematic
EvidenceSource, revision/date, page/section/figure/table, access dateLinked beside each profile

Next research order

  1. Obtain the released V2-Core production schematic and derive every connector’s electrical limits.
  2. For restricted Tormach drawings, obtain written permission or an independently authorized source before transcribing internal maps; obtain the 8L TD10829 serial-specific document and verify uncertain 15L pins.
  3. Find primary schematics/service docs for more mill and lathe controller generations. Record gated OEM interfaces as evidence gaps rather than importing unrelated legacy maps.
  4. For lasers, add exact PSU/controller/machine combinations and keep machine, controller, PSU, tube/module, and safety options separate.
  5. For plotters, prioritize products with documented external-driver or accessory connectors. Keep USB-only products with no board map classified as internal/closed.
  6. Promote no sticker to production until source and machine harness agree pin-by-pin and Core-side ratings have been reviewed.
Scope, evidence rules, and exclusions
  • Manufacturer/controller manuals, support pages, schematics, and repositories were preferred. K40 MYJG40W notes are older repository-authored secondary material.
  • Configuration examples are not machine standards. DB25/26 numbering does not determine axis, limit, spindle, or E-stop roles.
  • Internal cabinet wiring does not imply a plug-compatible retrofit port.
  • No mains, spindle output power, laser high-voltage, or motor-phase wiring recipe is provided.
  • Some Tormach drawing pages contain a proprietary/confidential notice restricting reproduction and use of the contained information without prior written permission. This page links to those sources but does not copy their images or transcribe their restricted maps.
  • The source page is stored in src/docs as requested. The separate research preview at smoothie-box-pinout-research.pages.dev republishes edits automatically; this is not part of the Jekyll documentation site.
Source register

External sources were accessed 2026-09-23. Links are reference citations; HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and SVG diagrams have no remote loading dependencies.

Chapter 2 · Additional primary-source connector maps · 2026-09-23

Six additional scoped configurations

This chapter adds six configurations to the initial 25-row inventory. A configuration is a machine paired with the documented controller generation; it is not a claim that six unrelated connector designs exist. These four source families add substantial contact or terminal evidence. Controller replacement still requires identifying the installed machine harness and measuring the electrical interface.

New profile inventory; the two Avid revisions and two Sienci machine pairings share parts of their published maps
Machine and exact controller scopePin-level evidenceReuse boundary
Taig four-axis CNC mill with Microproto controller and TurboTaig 2.2 add-onTwo selectable DB25 step/direction profiles; limit, emergency, and enable connector namesApplies only with the TurboTaig board and its selected J9 or J10 input
Avid CNC Plug and Play router control, 17.4 electronics revision, manual 2020Q3.114-contact control cable, CRP850-00E 42-terminal breakout map, DB9 motor contact mapRouting and plasma options populate different cable wires
Avid CNC Plug and Play router control, 22.2 model revision, manual 2025Q1.1The same named connector groups have published maps in the later manualUse the 22.2 manual for this revision, not an assumption based on 17.4
Sienci AltMill with SLB-EXT closed-loop controller, board drawing dated 2024-04-08Controller port signal names and paired closed-loop motor/limit headersBoard port evidence, not AltMill cable colors or an installer-ready harness map
Sienci LongMill with closed-loop steppers and SLB-EXT controller, same drawingSame SLB-EXT board port namesConfirm installed controller and machine harness; do not apply to open-loop LongBoard
Original EggBot plotter with a verified EiBotBoard v2.4 controllerBoard schematic maps two motor-driver output terminal pairs and pen-servo header contactsBoard revision and motor-to-mechanism assignment must be checked on the actual machine

Taig Microproto mill + TurboTaig 2.2

TurboTaig is a documented third-party board fitted inside a Taig Microproto controller. It converts step/direction commands from a single PC parallel port to the Microproto controller's motor-phase interface. The manual says the DB25-to-IDC26 ribbon uses J9 for Mach1/Master5/TurboCNC/EMC-style step/direction software and J10 for SuperCam User 1 mode. J11 feeds the XYZ controller board and J22 feeds the optional A-axis board. This is a mapped retrofit variant, not the factory pinout of every Taig mill or lathe.

TurboTaig 2.2 PC-side DB25 roles, manual table 1, page 6; directions are relative to the PC
DB25 contactJ9, step/direction softwareJ10, SuperCam User 1
1Relay 3 outputNot used
2, 3X direction, X stepX step, X direction
4, 5Y direction, Y stepY step, Y direction
6, 7Z direction, Z stepZ step, Z direction
8, 9A direction, A stepRelay 1, Relay 3 outputs
10Emergency input to PCNot used
11, 12, 13X, Y, Z limit inputs to PCX, Y, Z limit inputs to PC
14Manual prints “In - Out - Relay 4”; direction is internally inconsistentRelay 2 output
15A limit input to PCRelay 4 output
16, 17Relay 1, Relay 2 outputsNot used
18–25GroundGround

Board-side field names are also documented: J1/J2/J29/J30 are three-contact limit inputs, with contact 1 ground and the middle contact the switch signal; the remaining contact can supply 5 V for an optical switch. J3 is the emergency input and J4 the enable-switch input. J5 selects PC versus switch enable ownership; in PC mode the relay-4 input becomes enable. The manual reuses some J numbers for jumper references in its later prose, so locate a connector from its illustrated board overlay and actual silk screen before labeling hardware.

Primary source: Homan Designs, TurboTaig Instruction Manual v2.2, pp. 3–12. The manual's input/output wording for DB25 contact 14 is reproduced only as a short disputed fragment. No electrical rating for the PC port or machine-side stepper phases is inferred.

Avid CNC Plug and Play controller · separate 17.4 and 22.2 revisions

Avid publishes a 14-contact external control cable for CRP800 Plug and Play systems and a 42-terminal map for the internal CRP850-00E breakout board. Both checked manuals have the contact functions summarized below. This is a router/plasma controller family; spindle contacts on a plasma controller and plasma contacts on a routing controller may be populated without being connected. The 22.2 manual also says some CRP860-00E M12 input contacts are not populated, so a connector's nominal standard is not enough to infer its live contacts.

Avid 14-contact control cable, manual table “14-pin Control Cable”; wire colors are manufacturer harness labels
ContactPublished roleWire colorDomain / applicability
1, 2VFD fault ground; VFD fault inputBlue; whiteSpindle option, input pair
3, 4Torch-on dry-contact pairOrange/black; green/blackPlasma option only
5, 6Divided torch voltage − and +Red/black; red/whitePlasma option; never raw torch voltage
7, 8Spindle forward relay contact and commonOrange; greenSpindle option, dry contact
9, 10Spindle speed analog output and analog commonRed; blackSpindle option, nominal 0–10 V
11Optional 10 V referenceBlue/whiteSpindle option; separate from speed output
12, 13, 14Arc-OK input; ground; Arc-OK groundWhite/black; blue/black; green/whitePlasma option
Source discrepancy: The Avid control-cable table assigns analog speed to contacts 9/10, and both the 17.4 and 22.2 manuals' terminal sections agree on the breakout board's 0–10 V output. Nearby explanatory prose in both PDFs instead calls the cable pair “8/9”. Treat that sentence as an unresolved manual error; verify the contact-numbered table against the installed mating cable before a physical sticker.

The same manuals map the separate DB9 motor connector: contacts 1 and 5 are the current-setting resistor circuit; 2–4 are unconnected; 6/7 are B+/B− motor phase outputs (yellow/blue wires); 8/9 are A+/A− outputs (red/green wires). These are driver-to-motor conductors and cannot be landed on V2-Core step/direction terminals. The connector is useful for identifying an existing motor harness only after its installed driver and current-setting resistor have been checked.

CRP850-00E terminal groups from each manual's “Phoenix Connector Terminal Blocks” table
Terminal pair or rangePublished functionImportant boundary
1–16Eight signal/GND input pairs: FF8, FF7, FF6, FF5, FF4, FF3, FF2, FF1 in that orderNPN signals close to ground; manual lists 12 V input domain
17/18, 19/20, 21/22Relay 1, Relay 2, spindle relay 5 V digital replica outputs, each paired with GNDThese terminals are logic outputs, not the relay's dry contacts
23/24, 25/26Motor 6 step/GND; motor 6 direction/GND5 V additional-driver control signals, not motor phases
27/28, 31/32Motor enable/GND pairsCheck physical jumper and existing motor-enable circuit
29/305 V input/GNDSupply input, not a field output
33/34Spindle forward relay and commonDry contact; distinct from terminal 21's logic replica
35/36Spindle PWM/GNDDigital 0–5 V; distinct from 0–10 V analog
37/38Spindle 0–10 V / analog commonAnalog spindle control
39/40, 41/4212 V input/GND; spindle fault input/GNDSupply input and separate fault input

Primary sources: Avid Plug and Play Controller Manual 2020Q3.1, marked 17.4 electronics revision, “3rd Party Spindle/VFD”, “Schematics”, and “Common Connector Pinouts”; Technical Manual 2025Q1.1, 22.2 model revision, corresponding sections. Avid's manual index ties revision numbers to purchase periods. The 2020Q3.1 PDF's filename contains “20.1”, but the actual pages identify the electronics as 17.4; this survey uses the printed revision.

Sienci AltMill / closed-loop LongMill · SLB-EXT board

Sienci says the SLB-EXT controller is used with AltMill generations and LongMills equipped with closed-loop steppers. Its official one-page pinout drawing, whose PCB image bears 2024-04-08, identifies ports by printed label. The drawing has contact labels but does not publish a numbered pin-1 orientation for the 2×4 motor-header positions. Preserve its literal terminal names and identify an actual mating harness before assigning physical positions.

LongMill generation check: Sienci's LongMill MK2 open-source page describes the older LongBoard controller and says MK2.5 introduced the SuperLongBoard. Their LongBoard details page lists X, Y1, Y2, and Z motor plugs plus SpinPWM, SpinDirection, limits, probe, and coolant interfaces for that different controller. None of the SLB-EXT contact labels below should be assigned to a LongBoard or SuperLongBoard by model name alone.

SLB-EXT function groups from the annotated pinout drawing; unnumbered contacts are named, not assigned inferred pin numbers
Board connectorLabels shownSticker implication
RS485 RJ25Contact 3 = 485−; contact 4 = 485+Only these two contacts are explicitly numbered
SPINDLEGND, PWM, DIR, EN, SPEEDDo not treat PWM and SPEED as the same electrical output
LIMITS top block5 VDC, X, Y1, Y2, Z, A, GNDNamed board terminals; downstream switch harness remains machine-specific
LIMIT SWITCHES lower headersVCC, Gd, N/A, SIG at Z, Y2, Y1, X positions; drawing also labels A and DOOR pointsVerify the fitted port and cable; N/A is a label, not a signal assignment
STEPPER MOTORS 2×4 headersAL−, GD, E−, 5V, D−, D+, S−, S+ for each pictured Z, Y2, Y1, X headerClosed-loop driver signals; not motor winding phases
LASER / TLS / PROBELaser EN, PW, GND; TLS +5 VDC, TLS, GND; Probe GND, PROBEThree different accessory interfaces
FLOOD / SWT1 / SWT2 / PWR1 / PWR2 / ADCFLOOD + and GND; two switch IN/OUT pairs; PWR1/PWR2 +24 VDC and SW GND; ADC + and −Keep switched power and logic-input roles separate
POWER IN / MOTOR POWERBoard +48 VDC and GND; separate motor-power +48 VDC/GND positionsSupply conductors, never signal terminal equivalents
E-STOP / LED POWERE-STOP pair, VCC, ACT 1/2/3, GND; LED POWER GND and +5 VDCDo not infer safety rating from an E-STOP label

Primary sources: Sienci SLB-EXT product and machine applicability page, SLB-EXT Pinout List PDF, and Connector List PDF. These PDF diagrams are linked, not embedded or redrawn. The connector list specifies multiple pitches and form factors; it does not by itself determine a wire's function.

Original EggBot plotter · conditional EBB v2.4 board profile

The board designer says the EiBotBoard (EBB) was created for the Original EggBot; EBB revisions vary. The freely licensed v2.4 schematic makes a useful plotter-board pin profile when the installed EggBot actually has that revision. It shows two on-board A4988 stepper drivers, so the screw terminals carry motor winding outputs, not external step/direction control. The pen-arm servo uses RB1. Its optional external step/direction and 0.1-inch motor headers are marked “Do Not Insert” on the schematic; their existence in a drawing does not establish a populated retrofit connector.

EBB v2.4 schematic nets, with connector reference and numbered contacts
Board connector and contactNet / functionBoundary
JP13: 1, 2Motor 1 winding output M1_OUT1B, M1_OUT1ADriver output pair; actual EggBot mechanism assignment not implied
JP16: 1, 2Motor 1 winding output M1_OUT2A, M1_OUT2BSecond driver output pair
JP17: 1, 2Motor 2 winding output M2_OUT1B, M2_OUT1ADriver output pair
JP18: 1, 2Motor 2 winding output M2_OUT2A, M2_OUT2BSecond driver output pair
JP1: 1, 2, 3GND, servo 5 V, RB1 pen-servo signalServo supply and logic signal, separate from motor supply
JP19 / JP20Optional 4-contact duplicates of motor 1 / motor 2 output netsMarked unpopulated; no sticker endpoint without board inspection

Primary sources: Brian Schmalz's EBB project documentation and EBB v2.4 schematic, licensed CC BY 3.0 US. The table names nets and connector contacts from that schematic; it does not reproduce the drawing or make a claim about other EBB revisions.

Coverage after expansion

31 assessed configurations: 25 in Chapter 1 plus the six scoped pairings above. Of these, 18 have at least one explicit source-supported contact/function assignment: 12 of the initial records and all six additions. The other 13 are leads or connection records without an in-page numbered contact map. This is a record count, not 18 distinct pinout designs or 18 drop-in machines: several configurations share a controller map, and some assignments are ambiguous, partial, or board-only. There are still no production-ready V2-Core labels because the released Core screw-terminal contract, installed machine revisions, signal ratings, and safety circuits have not been reconciled. For a usable sticker program, make one record per actual machine/control combination and attach the source revision, connector view, wire identity, and measured or published electrical limits.

How the 18 assignment records and 13 leads were counted

Chapter 1 assignments (12): PCNC 440 (1), legacy PCNC 770/1100 (2, shared ambiguous table), 15L (1, ambiguous), Sherline mill/lathe with 8760 (2, shared driver), Sherline Acorn remaps for mill/lathe (2), G540 (1), C11G (1, partial I/O groups), Mesa 7I96S (1), and Ruida RDC6445G/S (1). Chapter 2 assignments (6): TurboTaig mill (1), Avid 17.4/22.2 (2, shared functions), SLB-EXT AltMill/closed-loop LongMill (2, shared board), and EggBot with verified EBB v2.4 (1). “Assignment” requires at least one explicit connector contact number or signal-to-terminal group in this page; it does not mean a complete pin map.

Chapter 1 leads (13): Tormach 770M, 770MX, 1100M, 1100MX, 8L (5); generic Mach3, Warp9 ESS, Centroid Acorn (3); K40/MYJG40W, MKS DLC32, Ortur Laser Master 3, AxiDraw family, and Makeblock XY Plotter 2.0 (5). These rows identify relevant hardware or source material but do not have an in-page numbered connector map. No additional lead rows were added in Chapter 2.